Happy Gobble-Gobble

Technically it’s not Thanksgiving until Monday, but here at The Burrow we celebrated a couple of days early. My cousin had asked me if we could host Thanksgiving dinner this year, because her parents were going to be away and her husband has to work on Thanksgiving Day. Sure, I said. And then I invited my uncle, who invited my grandmother, and then we invited Mr. Fixit’s parents too. All told, we had thirteen people here, counting the baby. And I always do count the baby.

It was just what Thanksgiving dinner should be. Loud, chaotic, with tons of food. Mr. Fixit’s parents seemed a little tense when they arrived – well, no wonder. They’re worried about Mr. Fixit’s grandmother, who is very ill right now. But Tonka soon got Grandma Fixit started on a card game, and then I put her to work in the kitchen, and there were babies and children to hold and play with, and people to talk to, and tasty things to eat, and pictures to look at, and conversations to be had…and after a while I forgot that the Senior Fixits were feeling sad, and I think maybe they did too. It was good for all of us. Sometimes our families get caught up in negativity and tension, but this was a happy, relaxed gathering.

And the best part of dinner…well, I’ll let the picture speak for itself:

Chocolate Fountain for dessert!

About Sue

This blog chronicles the adventures of Sue and Steve as they travel internationally with their three children.
This entry was posted in Family ties and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Gobble-Gobble

  1. Mir says:

    Happy Thanksgiving, my friend! Looks as thought there is much for which to be thankful. 🙂 (Also, I am totally coming over for the chocolate fountain….)

    • mamadragon says:

      Indeed, we are thankful for many things! And if you come over I will definitely break out the chocolate fountain in your honour!

  2. Lynn says:

    Is the chocolate fountain a Canadian thing? You guys do everything better than us don’t you?

Leave a Reply

