In Honour of National Coming-Out Day

It’s a day late, but that’s okay because National Coming Out Day doesn’t seem to be much of a day in Canada anyway. And it landed on Thanksgiving this year. But this seems as good a time as any to share this story.

In my family there are fourteen cousins. One of the cousins came out as a female-to-male transgendered person years ago. And recently a second cousin revealed that (s)he is also female-to-male transgendered. He changed his name and started treatments to become legally male.

When I heard this news I turned to Mr. Fixit and said, “You know, it’s a good thing we’ve been open with the kids about that other transgendered person in the family. We’ll have to make sure we tell them about the second person, especially the girls, because there must be a pretty strong genetic component to that in my family. Our daughters could have that gene…”

Oh, right.

My children will learn tolerance and respect and compassion from me. But they didn’t get any genes from me.

About Sue

This blog chronicles the adventures of Sue and Steve as they travel internationally with their three children.
This entry was posted in Family ties, Funny parents, Observations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In Honour of National Coming-Out Day

  1. lisa says:

    I think as a society…..or world even?…we could all use a reminder to accept differences and embrace that which makes us all unique. Teaching tolerance is, in my humble estimation, best taught and understood when lived(and modeled) and it sounds like you guys are already doing a remarkable job!

    And gosh…so behind here!! So glad your Gobble weekend was splendid and can I just say…..yummy yum yum with the chocolate fondue!!! Wow!!!

    🙂

  2. Lynn says:

    My daughter is not so lucky and has gotten every crazy gene in my lousy DNA…

    • mamadragon says:

      Mr. Fixit and I are doing our best to prove that the crazy can be passed on through environment as well as genetically. 🙂

Leave a Reply

