This is All Nature

Sometimes I like to flatter myself that my kids are wonderful because I made them that way. Especially when I receive compliments on my children from teachers or other authority figures, I want to preen a little and gloat to myself at how my most excellent parenting has created this most excellent child. Creative Cat tends to garner frequent praise from teachers, for her gentle, kind ways, her caring spirit, and her great creativity and intelligence. How I love to believe that I have made her that way.

And then we have a day like yesterday, which makes me remember that each of my children really is a force unto themselves. I can teach them to clean up after themselves and eat three pieces of fruit a day, but their personalities, skills and preferences are really their own.

Exhibit B: Gold, Baby!
Exhibit A: Creative Cat at the Tour de Bloc Bouldering Competition

 

There is not one iota of nurture in this child’s climbing skills. I’m scared to climb a six-foot ladder. I have the flexibility, but not the posture, of a flagpole. Cat’s climbing skills are totally her own.

So why am I so damn proud?

About Sue

This blog chronicles the adventures of Sue and Steve as they travel internationally with their three children.
This entry was posted in Play and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This is All Nature

  1. lisa says:

    Way to go Creative Cat!!!!

    Hey its true enough we agonize and are ridden with guilt when things go wrong or they misbehave ( in public!! ) LOL 🙂 so its a kind of balance to celebrate the good stuff too!!!!!

    She’s a cutie!!

  2. Lynn says:

    Cuz she’s your kid! And you are clearly am awesome mom!

Leave a Reply

