An Open Letter

Dear Universe:

Look, I got it, okay? Message received LOUD AND CLEAR.

I already knew that it kind of sucks to be turning forty later this month. You’ve made that abundantly clear. Extra padding around the waist and butt: check. Knees that just won’t run no more, no more: check. Insomnia, grey hair, spouse who snores and still wants to wear the clothes that were stylish when he was a teen: check, check,  and oh my lord, CHECK. I GOT IT.

I didn’t think it was TOO outrageous to plan a weekend getaway with my husband. You know, we don’t get away all that often. Once in ten years, I think. We don’t even do date night very often. So one weekend in New York City didn’t seem like too much to ask for, I thought.

We knew the shingles were a potential problem but the blisters are mostly gone now and I haven’t been too terribly sore since last week. So I thought it was entirely reasonable to make yesterday a test day – I would have one normal day, including a trip to the grocery store, and we would see how that went. I think that’s reasonable, don’t you? Well, I was tired afterward. More than tired. I sat on my couch and cried a little at the thought of having to go get the kids at the bus stop. You know, at that point I was pretty certain we would have to cancel the New York trip for this weekend. I ALREADY KNEW.

You did NOT have to throw in the sick child and the husband with the weird throat infection. THAT WAS OVERKILL. I’m just sayin’. Nobody likes a nag, Universe.

Sincerely, Mamadragon

P.S. Watch your back, Universe. I have three kids and they are forces to be reckoned with. Guaranteed at least one of them is having kids. And then their kids will have kids. The Mamadragon-Fixit Empire is just getting started. It might take a couple of generations, but REVENGE IS COMING, Universe.

About Sue

This blog chronicles the adventures of Sue and Steve as they travel internationally with their three children.
This entry was posted in Grouchy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Open Letter

  1. Mir says:

    Oh no!! So sorry, sweetie. 😦

  2. lisa says:

    Oh gosh…..that’s just no fun and so so unfair!!!

    I think your threats are warranted, pesky old Universe! Always butting in and thumbing its nose at our fun!

    Seriously though, you shared all of this AND did it with a sense of humor ~ I am impressed and I hope the Universe is listening CUZ I think this post should get extra points!!!

    🙂 P.S. I turned 40 this year too….welcome ( or almost!) to the club!!!! Its actually…..o.k.!!!!

  3. Lynn says:

    That sucks!!!!! The Universe needs to totally kiss my ass most days.

Leave a Reply

