Cross This One Off the Bucket List

“Attend a midnight screening of a blockbuster movie on the day it opens”. Check.

What I never would have thought to put on my (imaginary, strictly in my head) bucket list: “Attend a midnight screening of a blockbuster movie at the end of the second day of Mr. Fixit being away, on the day you have had to drive across town twice for kids’ activities, while on the tail end of recovery from shingles, meaning that you will be so tired by 9 pm that you are afraid to walk by your bedroom lest the bed with those soft, welcoming blankets and fluffy, fluffy pillows suck you into its warm embrace.”

Right up until 11 pm I was half-convinced I wasn’t going to the movie. I was too tired and sore. But I finally decided I wasn’t going to experience a midnight opening of a movie very often in my life. I might as well go. And besides, I couldn’t bear to think of reading the paper or browsing the ‘net the next day, possibly running into reviews of a movie I hadn’t seen yet.

I’m so glad I went. It was an awesome movie, and it was a cheap thrill to be driving home at 3 am, knowing I was one of the dedicated few to have seen the movie the very minute it was released to the general public. I love the feeling I have this morning of “I know something you don’t know”. I can’t wait to see the move again with my family, and I’m glad I know what to expect so I can forewarn my younger two about some of the more suspenseful and scary scenes. When Deathly Hallows, Part Two comes out, you can bet I’ll be at the midnight opening again, probably with Creative Cat at my side.

This weekend I’m going to pick out my first tattoo. Years ago I swore I would get a tattoo for my fortieth birthday. On the way home from the movie it occurred to me that I’m celebrating my midlife birthday by acting like a teenager. If this trend continues, when I’m eighty I’ll probably celebrate with a fresh diaper and pablum.

About Sue

This blog chronicles the adventures of Sue and Steve as they travel internationally with their three children.
This entry was posted in Observations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cross This One Off the Bucket List

  1. Mir says:

    Dude. A tattoo?? Really??? Whatcha gonna get, and—more importantly—WHERE will you get it?

    • mamadragon says:

      Details will be revealed in due course.

      Which is a very deep and mysterious way of saying I don’t know yet. I totally fooled you, right? You thought I was all deep and mysterious, right? Oh, dangit.

  2. Loth says:

    Got to be a tattoo of the Deathly Hallows symbol, surely?

  3. Lynn says:

    Can’t wait to see the tattoo, mid-life crisis lady!

Leave a Reply

