Busy Busy

I’m sorry, I’m not too present today. I’m busy helping Grade 5 make some seasonal crafts this afternoon, plus I have a few seasonal errands of my own to do, and then Queenie has an appointment this afternoon, and…well, it’s just very busy here at The Burrow right now. I’ll come back in a day or two with something interesting to say, I promise.

In the meantime, maybe you could just think some positive thoughts for me about that job I interviewed for yesterday. I know, it’s completely ridiculous to be so pumped up about a one-hour-a-day job. Another mom, who meant well I know, pointed out that I’ll probably spend almost as much on gas driving to and from this job as I will make after taxes at this job. Way to burst my bubble, sweetheart. It’s true, from an economic standpoint, this isn’t the best job I could have. However, it puts me an an excellent position to find a more lucrative job next year, when Tonka is in free daycare full-day school. Plus, it’s at a SCHOOL. Only fellow teachers know the significance of that lovely, lovely word. SCHOOL, where there is LEARNING, and KIDS, and BOOKS, and PREDICTABILITY and TEACHERS who CARE. I heart all those things. I would SO love to work in a school environment. From my brief interview yesterday, I got a good feeling about this particular school. It seemed warm and fun and just exactly where I’d like to be.

So, if you don’t mind, spare me some good wishes and positive thoughts, okay? And if you happen to have a magic wand, it wouldn’t hurt to cast a good spell or two in my direction either.

Oh look, Queenie’s got my back. Thanks, Cutie. I knew I could count on you.

Update: Don’t bother with the positive thoughts, I didn’t get the job. The upside of this is I’ll have more time to focus on laundry and cleaning toilets. Awesome.

About Sue

This blog chronicles the adventures of Sue and Steve as they travel internationally with their three children.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Busy Busy

  1. Lynn says:

    I was just about to leave a positive thought when I saw the update. I hope that it wasn’t because I was late with my positive thought. No, it couldn’t be that because, trust me, my positive thoughts are not that powerful. A school job would be great…keep trying!

  2. Sis says:

    So sorry you didn’t get this one, it sounded like a good entry point but there will be more opportunities- there will be! Not long til you have more hours in the daytime hours to work, so hang in there. The right one will come along.

  3. Lisa says:

    Oh crud ~ I too was about to send those good vibes but I agree with Sis; something better will come along and in the meantime, there is always the Christmas rush to consider and enjoy!! 🙂

    AND something else; you had a great opportunity to practice up “so to speak” for when you do begin job searching in earnest. Sometimes I get that sick feeling imagining doing that again after all these years. I mean…….can you wear lounge pants to interviews these days?? LOL But you know what I mean and YOU have made that first step!!!!!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

