Disorganized

Last week Queen Bee brought home a birthday party invitation. When she handed it to me, she also handed me the phone. “Call them now, Mom,” she urged. “Tell them I’m coming.” I should have done it, but I didn’t. I’m shy about talking to people I don’t know very well on the phone. Instead I put the invitation on the shelf beside my laptop, so I would remember to RSVP via e-mail later.

Stupid me. You know where this is going, right? It was a busy week. I found the invitation Saturday morning when we finally cleaned up the family room. The party was scheduled for 4 pm on Saturday and I had forgotten to RSVP.

Why did it have to be Queen Bee, of all my children? She’s the one with the poor social skills, the one who irritates her friends on a regular basis with odd behaviours, the one with the fewest close friends. Tonka or Creative Cat could afford to miss a friend’s birthday party and know they would be forgiven. Queenie…well, I don’t think she has any social currency to spare, so to speak.

But what could I do? I had forgotten to RSVP, and by now the family would have made their birthday party plans assuming that Queen Bee would not be there. The loot bags would be purchased for children who had RSVP’ed, the party (at a paint-your-own ceramics place) would be arranged, the pizza and cupcakes would have been ordered already…far too late to RSVP now. Still, for my own peace of mind I left a deeply apologetic message on the other mom’s voice mail. I hung up feeling lower than the dog poop ground into the grass in my back yard, but at least I’d done what I could to make amends.

And the other mom called back a few minutes later….laughing. Wait, what? She explained that she had been very busy herself recently, and she had somehow lost a bunch of voice messages. Her daughter had been asking if Queenie had RSVP’ed for the party, and she had assumed there was a message from us in the accidentally-deleted messages, and they had been planning for Queen Bee to attend the party all along. Could she come? Oh yes. Yes yes yes. And she did, never knowing how close she had come to missing out.

Karma, or whatever forces in the universe are responsible for this, I owe you. Thank you!

About Sue

This blog chronicles the adventures of Sue and Steve as they travel internationally with their three children.
This entry was posted in The Queen of Quirky and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Disorganized

  1. Lynn says:

    Thank God you called! That is quite the happy ending! See? You’re a great mom!

  2. L says:

    I love a happy ending and I kind of think you had this one coming…..as in, you deserved a cosmic break!!! You AND Queenie!! 🙂 I hope she had a blast!!!

  3. Pingback: Sometimes He Surprises Me in a Good Way | Never The Twain

Leave a Reply

