She’s a Phenom

Creative Cat won her climbing competition on Saturday. For those keeping track at home, she’s three for three now in winning first prize for her age category in climbing competitions. She was amazing in Montreal. She climbed with her usual skill and aplomb, helped her team-mates, and kept up a positive attitude throughout the whole competition. The icing on the cake was that her best friend won third prize in the same category. Besides a medal, Cat won a long-sleeved athletic shirt. I think she likes the shirt more than the medal. You can’t wear a medal to school every day.

I wish I had some fabulous photos to share with you, but conditions just are not right for picture-taking in the climbing gym. The lighting is usually a bit on the dim side, so the camera compensates with a slower shutter speed, but the climber is moving quickly, so the photo ends up blurry. It may also be that my hands are a touch shaky while my child is on the wall. I’m not admitting to anything.

There is always a fog of chalk dust in the air at the gym. By the end of a busy competition, it looks like the room is filled with smoke. On Saturday, I kept watching fine flakes of chalk drifting down onto my black purse like volcanic ash dropping down from the sky. Even the best-quality cameras – and I don’t take my good camera to the climbing gym – have trouble focusing through that kind of haze. I know how the camera feels. After several hours at a climbing competition, I too have a hard time staying focused.

I think I’d better get used to it. Something tells me I have a lot more climbing competitions in my future.

About Sue

This blog chronicles the adventures of Sue and Steve as they travel internationally with their three children.
This entry was posted in Play and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to She’s a Phenom

  1. Seashell says:

    Well done Creative Cat! Mama sounds so proud, and with good reason.

Leave a Reply

